Local Japan Podcast
Local Japan Podcast
#50 Physical Work and the Revival of Timber Framing in America
0:00
-1:06:42

#50 Physical Work and the Revival of Timber Framing in America

Tedd Benson's iconic book, Building the Timber Frame House: The Revival of a Forgotten Art

Just a few days ago, a 3D modeling company brought over their cameras and tripods to scan the ins and outs of the property (my architect in California will use the data to visualize the site since he can’t visit in person). I’ll share more about this important step soon, but recently, I’ve been reflecting much more on the manual clean-up required to prepare for the scan.

Whenever I would encounter other forms of life up there, like lizards, spiders, and even orange slime molds, my fight or flight responses would kick in, my pupils would dilate, and my body would rush with adrenaline. In our safe, manufactured cities, I rarely needed to turn on these instincts. But up in the mountains, I have found myself gaining a greater awareness of and connection to my natural surroundings.

One day, I pulled a heavy cabinet off the front lawn and uncovered the shelter of not one, but two Japanese pit vipers (mamushi). As it turns out, mamushi are one of two venomous snakes in Japan. I had probably walked past them daily for weeks without even knowing it! They have since slithered away in retreat, but I’m sure they’re not too far. 

Equally startling to me was my encounter with a pair of rodents. I had just finished removing a stack of rotten wood and was sweeping up the remaining heavy debris. Resting beneath this layer of debris were two newly-born mice — pink, hairless, and totally helpless. Their infant form was both disarming and creepy. I lightly covered them back up, hoping their mother would return (especially before the snakes find them).

Try to spot the two pit vipers in the lefthand photo, and the small lizard in the righthand photo

In addition to the vast but forgotten ecosystems that exist before our eyes, I’ve gained a greater appreciation for something else we often take for granted and even look down upon: trash collectors.

Since the 3D scan was a big expense and a one-time camera shoot, the site had to be as clean as possible. I removed over one hundred bags of trash and nearly one ton of scrap metal that the previous owners left. I was so desperate to get the ever-increasing mountain of trash bags out of my house that, as a customer of trash disposal services, I would have been happy to pay an extra inconvenience fee for the sheer volume I was amassing. 

On trash day, I stuffed the neighborhood collection area to the brim and drove away nervously, hoping the collectors would accept my trash. When I drove past later in the afternoon, the bags had disappeared and no warning notices had been posted. The trash collectors were simply doing their jobs, but from my elated perspective, they had taken a great burden off my shoulders for just 80 yen per bag. 

I brought a truckload of trash to the collection area four more times, and every time it happened, I couldn’t believe that they would just take it away. Disposing of trash is much like flushing the toilet. We do it every day, and so we tend to forget how miraculous of a system it really is. Since I’m working on a piece of land that has no cement road, water, or electricity yet, I’ve become forced into awareness about the value of these modern comforts.

In addition to throwing out trash bags, removing over-sized trash has been intense work. The light truck (kei-tora) has been worth every penny.

I’m sure that this is only the beginning of the stories that I’ll have to tell once the renovation enters full swing.

Now that the design work is ready to commence and the clean-up is finishing up, I’ve been returning my attention to the principles and tactics of homebuilding. So please enjoy this episode of the Local Japan podcast as we explore the Bible of timber framing, Building the Timber Frame House: The Revival of a Forgotten Art by Tedd Benson.

Local Japan Podcast is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Books Mentioned In This Episode:

When you purchase a book (or anything on Amazon) with the links below, you support me and the podcast at no extra cost to you:

Links to More Resources:

13 Essential Joints Listed in the Book:

  1. Mortise and Tenon

  2. Shouldered Mortise and Tenon

  3. Anchor-Beam Joint

  4. Knee-Brace Joint

  5. Scarf Joint

  6. Housed Dovetail

  7. Tusk Tenon

  8. Dovetail

  9. Corner Joints at Sill

  10. Joints at Rafter Feet

  11. Tongue and Fork

  12. Collar-Tie Joint

  13. Framed Overhang

0 Comments
Local Japan Podcast
Local Japan Podcast
Restoring abandoned properties in rural Japan and learning business lessons from paperback reads and formidable individuals who set the example 🇯🇵 https://localjapan.substack.com/